The Yoga Diaries: Introduction

The truth of the matter is that my exercise schedule in general and my yoga practice in particular have fallen apart since my trip to Thailand in February.  I cancelled my gym membership before going with the intention of finding other ways to exercise.

Ahh - meditation

Ahh – meditation

It’s not as if I’ve been doing nothing.  I have been taking a weekly dance lesson since August – which is great.  I’ve been going to dances.   I’ve been giving regular Thai massages. I work a small allotment.  I have one yoga class at Freestyle Yoga Project on a Thursday evening which I rarely miss.  And I have done my post breakfast short seated practice and short meditation (detailed in this post) virtually every day.  I think I’ve missed about five days total in the year.

My weight is under 70Kg and that gives me a BMI of 23.4 which is easily within the healthy band according to NHS Choices.  So what’s the problem?

Simply that I miss my once-regular longer yoga practice.  I have a desire, at least for a period, to get back to it.   When I was getting in from work to an empty house I would practice then every day except the day I went to my regular class.  Now that my daily routine is more flexible I find that I don’t have that daily trigger to practice.  Time to try for an early morning practice then?  Well I’ve decided to give it a try.

I’m building up gradually.  Rather than have my breakfast seated and then do my short practice I’m hoping to build a pre-breakfast practice over the next month and see how it goes.  This morning I did a single slow sun salutation, followed by breakfast and then my usual short seated sequence.  The idea is to gradually add more and more pre-breakfast, and see how it goes.  I’ll try to report back on a weekly basis for the next month so give me stick if I don’t!

This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Yoga Diaries: Introduction

  1. globie says:

    Just get on your Mat every day without expectations or goals. Do what feels right.

    • Mike Evans says:

      I think that really is the deal. I just feel as though I’ve been cruising for too long and just now that doesn’t feel right so time to do something about it. I should follow your example and just keep turning up on the mat.

Leave a Reply

