Pumpkin Bread

CIMG9858

Turk’s Turban

In 2014 I grew some lovely Turk’s Turban squash.  They lasted very well through the winter in our store cupboard.  In fact so well that there was still a large one left when it was about time to start harvesting the 2015 crop of squash and pumpkin. We used some of it for a pumpkin and goat cheese savoury pie, and some for soup.  The remainder I made into a purée and froze in 250g portions.  I had seen a recipe for a savoury roulade which called for the purée, but I’ve yet to find it again and make it.

A month or so back I decided that it was about time I found a use for it.  My regular sourdough bread recipe has 4 tablespoons of olive oil in it and on a whim I decided to substitute 250g of pumpkin purée for the oil and see what happened.  What happened was a spectacular bread.  It has a softness and colour reminiscent of brioche.  The crust is extra crispy.

pumpkin1I didn’t take photos of the making but it’s similar to this post.  As per usual I put the whole of my jar of sourdough starter from the fridge into a bowl with a a two 250ml cups of water and the same volume of white bread flour.  This ferments overnight and I remove half a cup of the sponge, put it back in the cleaned pot with half a cup each of flour and water.  That goes in the fridge for the next bake.

To the remaining sponge I added the defrosted pumpkin purée, five 250ml cups of white bread flour and 2 teaspoons of salt.  That’s it, nothing complicated.  It might benefit from a little more salt.  I know that measuring by weight is more accurate, but then equally the absorbency of your flour will have a greater effect on how much you need.  Make a dough, knead it minimally, about 4 minutes, and ferment it for a couple of hours until it’s double in size.  Make it into loaves and proof them for an hour and then bake at 22oºC for 25 mins and then reduce the temperature to 160ºC for a further 10 to 15 mins.

This was such a success that I’ve baked it again since, and if I’m not careful all of the purée will be used up before I get around to finding the recipe I originally intended it for.

pumpkin2

This entry was posted in Food and Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Bread

  1. Looks great. I’ll have to show this to the other half (OIC chief breadmaker).😊

Leave a Reply

