The Yoga Diaries: Week 2

This will be boring for my non-yoga readers, but for the record, this is how the past week went:

Monday:  Ashtanga primary series complete standing sequence, daily seated routine,  supported bridge,  shoulderstand 25 breaths, plough 25 breaths, headstand 25 breaths, breakfast, meditation.

Tuesday:  Ashtanga primary series complete standing sequence, seated as far as marichiasana C without ‘vinyassa’,  supported bridge, shoulderstand 25 breaths, plough 25 breaths, headstand 25 breaths, breakfast, meditation.

Wednesday:  Same as Tuesday but I added urdva danurasana, the full back-bend. Oh boy, my body really doesn’t like to do that first thing in the morning. No meditation (gasp) as I was running a bit late.  I did a short stretch and meditation session in the evening though.

Thursday: Same as Wednesday.

Thursday evening:  90 minute vinyassa flow class at The Freestyle Yoga Project on a theme of arm balances.

Friday: Daily seated routine.  (Friday being my day off from yoga rather than Saturday.)

Saturday:  Same as Wednesday, plus added the padmasana poses to the end of the closing sequence.

Sunday: Same as Saturday.

So, some consistency built this week.  I’m frustrated a little in that I know that if I practised later in the day I would have the energy and mobility to do a much fuller practice.  But the main thing is that I am practising.

Intention for next week: add in the vinyassa between the seated postures and the marichiasana sequence.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

