Franken-squash

Uchiki Kuri

Uchiki Kuri

Last year on the allotment I planted two types of winter squash.  (As far as I can tell summer squash are soft skinned things like courgettes and patty-pan squash, winter squash are hard skinned like pumpkins, butternuts etc.)   The first was Uchiki Kuri, a red onion squash also known as pottimarron in French as they have a taste reminiscent of sweet chestnuts.  The second was Turk’s turban.  I had a good crop of both and both were good keepers so we were able to enjoy them right through the winter.  In fact I used the last of them at about the same time as I planted out the seedlings this year.

Turk's Turban

Turk’s Turban

I had a few of each type of seed left, and I also saved seed from one of the Uchiki Kuri and sowed a couple of those.  The plants grew well.  There were lots of flowers and some fruits started to develop.  I could see plenty of the Turk’s turban coming along.  I was disappointed that there didn’t seem to be so many Uchiki Kuri.

One day I went hunting among the mass of leaves to see if there were any more.  That’s when I saw The Thing.  Deep in the bed, hidden by some rampant tomato plants, loomed a massive pale presence.   Like a nocturnal-eyed Gollum it seemed to wink with menace.  Blight took the tomatoes and I cleared them out, revealing its flesh coloured almost buttock-like dome.

Frankensquash

Frankensquash

Finally I have plucked up the courage to get in there and harvest some of the squash.  I’m guessing that one of my own seed turned out to be a hybrid between the two types from last year.  I, or at least the bees, have created a monster.  There was only the one.  The plant seems to have put all its energies into producing it.  I think we should probably save it for our Halloween supper.   Spooky!

CIMG9865

Frankensquash with its mother on the left and (presumed) father on the right.

This entry was posted in Allotment, Food and Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Franken-squash

  1. Love the frankinsquash. Roughly how big, weight was it?

    • Mike Evans says:

      It weighs 4.4Kg which is nearly 10 lbs. It’s 23cm, or about 9 inches in diameter. I’m wondering if I should plant seeds from it next year, but of course as it grew amongst other plants I don’t know what the father (pollen parent) of any offspring will be.

  2. Pingback: Return of Franken-squash | Mike's Pad

Leave a Reply

