Inspiration

I’m just starting to prepare for South East Open Studios, which happens at the beginning of June.  Getting the pottery tidied up, taking a hammer to a few pots that have been hanging around too long just taking up space.  Looking in boxes to see what I have and what I should make.  Thinking about the display.  Getting inspiration.

CIMG7188

Ah.  Inspiration.  There’s a mystery.  The platters I’ve been making recently definitely take their inspiration from the colours and textures I see on a beach about an hour from here which we often visit in the summer.  The cliffs there are made of clay and are constantly eroding and changing.  The sandstone rocks that fall from them onto the beach have seams of iron and other mineral deposits running through them.

This morning I sent off some photos to The Portelli Room, the gallery space above Gorgeous George in Tonbridge which is going to be running a taster exhibition of local artist’s work ahead of and during Open Studios.  Then I started looking through photos I’ve taken on that beach and thinking about where this design is going.

The answer is, I don’t know.  I’m not much good at this theorising stuff.  I just make pots, experiment and get a feeling for whether something is ‘right’ or not.

Maybe if I had spent three or more years at art school rather than studying electronics I’d have some idea how to say this stuff.  (On the other hand maybe not.)  Anyway, here are some photos of the pots and the beach.  Hopefully there is some connection for others, rather than is all being in my head.  You should be able to click on the images to get a larger view and or slide show.

I keep looking at the sky and clouds in the photo at the top and wondering how I might convey that feeling in a pot…

This entry was posted in Pottery and Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

