Accidental pottery day

image

This morning I wanted to go back to a wat (temple) I saw yesterday but didn’t get see inside. Wat pun dtao an old style temple made of unpainted teak boards.

Inside I was surprised to find a floor made of hand made tiles in what looked like a honey lead glaze and some copper green. Against the internal pilars were vessels in a beautiful celedon glaze.

image

After that I wandered on through the walled city and happened across this gate post topped with a Thai style lamp. Then I stumbled on a lovely fountain made with stoneware vases. So although I was planning on going to look for pottery at some point today it came to find me.
image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Accidental pottery day

  1. Deborah Crook says:

    Hi Mike,
    Deb as in Phillips here. I’m off work at the moment with a disc prolapse – which I read that you’ve also experienced – and Anita gave me the link to your blog to help while away the hours at home any I’m really enjoying it. Looking forward to reading more.

    • Mike Evans says:

      Hi Deb. Sorry to heae you are out of action. Yes, I’ve been there, done that and wouldn’t wish it on anyone. I hope you are up and about soon.

      • Deborah Crook says:

        Have had a go at the sourdough starter. It’s looking positive. We want to try making rye bread to get away from wheat. Enjoy the gac juice and your rejuvenated ovaries!

      • Mike Evans says:

        Good luck with the bread. I’ve had a request for my actual bread recipe so I’ll post that when I’m home.

        You might find that sourdough bread, even when made from wheat flour, suits you better than conventional bread. I suspect it is something to do with the longer fermentation making it more digestable.

  2. Sue Stewart says:

    Mary cannot access the reply bit so I will! She wants one of the pots!!! The lamp in fact!
    I have had a go at sour dough bread, got the starter to work but did not knead it enough or add enough water !so was a bit heavy! Will try again as I have the starter in the fridge! All looks lovely!
    Enjoy yourself!
    Sue

    • Mike Evans says:

      I’ll see what I can do re the lamps. There are some more interesting gateposts on my way to massage school.

      Yes, too dry is a problem and it s a pain to get more water in once you havr started kneeding. Better to go for too wet as you can always add more flour as you go.

  3. Graham says:

    Love this fountain pot – how large can you fire back home?

    • Mike Evans says:

      Thanks for commenting Graham. I bought a new kiln just over a year ago. It has an internal diameter of just over 500cm so that’s the limit on the large platters I make. I can’t remember the hieght. A bit less than the hieght, and so far that hasn’t limited me as I don’t seem to throw much over 30 cm high.

Leave a Reply

